l'électricien Index du Forum

 
 
FAQ Rechercher Membres Groupes S’enregistrer Profil Se connecter pour vérifier ses messages privés Connexion
The OneCent Magenta Inside The Quest To Own The Most Valu

 
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet    l'électricien Index du Forum -> 2éme Année -> Automatique
Sujet précédent :: Sujet suivant  
Auteur Message
raogdeni
Capitaine
Capitaine

Hors ligne

Inscrit le: 22 Mar 2016
Messages: 460
Localisation: Montpellier

MessagePosté le: Lun 3 Juil - 15:32 (2017)    Sujet du message: The OneCent Magenta Inside The Quest To Own The Most Valu Répondre en citant


The One-Cent Magenta: Inside the Quest to Own the Most Valuable Stamp in the World
by James Barron
rating: 4.9 (13 reviews)


->->->->DOWNLOAD BOOK The One-Cent Magenta: Inside the Quest to Own the Most Valuable Stamp in the World
READ BOOK The One-Cent Magenta: Inside the Quest to Own the Most Valuable Stamp in the World



An inside look at the obsessive, secretive, and often bizarre world of high-profile stamp collecting, told through the journey of the world&rsquo;s most sought-after stamp.<BR />  <BR /> When it was issued in 1856, it cost a penny. In 2014, this tiny square of faded red paper sold at Sotheby&rsquo;s for nearly $9.5 million, the largest amount ever paid for a postage stamp at auction. Through the stories of the eccentric characters who have bought, owned, and sold the one-cent magenta in the years in between, James Barron delivers a fascinating tale of global history and immense wealth, and of the human desire to collect.<BR />  <BR /> One-cent magentas were provisional stamps, printed quickly in what was then British Guiana when a shipment of official stamps from London did not arrive. They were intended for periodicals, and most were thrown out with the newspapers. But one stamp survived. The singular one-cent magenta has had only nine owners since a twelve-year-old boy discovered it in 1873 as he sorted through papers in his uncle&rsquo;s house. He soon sold it for what would be $17 today. (That&rsquo;s been called the worst stamp deal in history.) Among later owners was a fabulously wealthy Frenchman who hid the stamp from almost everyone (even King George V of England couldn&rsquo;t get a peek); a businessman who traveled with the stamp in a briefcase he handcuffed to his wrist; and John E. du Pont, an heir to the chemical fortune, who died while serving a thirty-year sentence for the murder of Olympic wrestler Dave Schultz.<BR />  <BR /> Recommended for fans of Nicholas A. Basbanes, Susan Orlean, and Simon Winchester, The One-Cent Magenta explores the intersection of obsessive pursuits and great affluence and asks why we want most what is most rare.<BR />  



Details:
rank: #25,297
price: $17.31
bound:
publisher: Algonquin Books (March 7, 2017)
lang: English
asin:
isbn: 1616205180, 978-1616205188,
weight: 9.6 ounces (
filesize:



The One-Cent Magenta: Inside the Quest to Own the Most Valuable Stamp in the World James Barron
The One-Cent Magenta: Inside the Quest to Own the Most Valuable Stamp in the World ebay spanish ebook book page The One-Cent Magenta: Inside the Quest to Own the Most Valuable Stamp in the World book Box





How..a..Scrap..of..Red..Paper..Enthralled..a..Century..of..Collectors......THE..ONE-CENT..MAGENTA..Inside..the..Quest..to..Own..the.....Quest..to..Own..the..Most..Valuable..Stamp...But..one..stamp..survived...The..singular..one-cent..magenta.....Inside..the..Quest..to..Own..the..Most..Valuable..Stamp..in..the..World...The..One-Cent..Magenta:..Inside..the..Quest..to..Own...Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the...Most...Valuable...Stamp.......of...the...world's...most...sought-after...stamp........stamp...survived....The...singular...One-Cent...Magenta...has...had...only....Inside....the....Quest....to....Own....the....Most....Valuable....Stamp....in.........told....through....the....journey....of....the....world's....most....sought-after....stamp..........The....One-Cent....Magenta....explores....the.....The....One-Cent....Magenta:....Inside....the....Quest....to....Own.........But....one....stamp....survived.....The....singular....one-cent....magenta.........Inside....the....Quest....to....Own....the....Most....Valuable....Stamp....in....the....World....Inside..the..Quest..to..Own..the..Most..Valuable..Stamp..in..the..World.....will..discuss..his..new..book..The..One-Cent..Magenta:..Inside..the..Quest..to..Own..the..Most..Valuable...The....One-cent....Magenta....Inside....the....Quest....to....Own....the....Most....Valuable....Stamp....in....the....World....(Book.........The....One-cent....Magenta....Inside....the....Quest....to....Own....the....Most....Valuable........of..THE..ONE-CENT..MAGENTA..by..James..Barron!An..inside.....to..Own..the..Most..Valuable..Stamp..in..the..World...The..One-Cent..Magenta:..Inside..the..Quest..to..Own..the..Most...The...One-Cent...Magenta:...Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the...Most...Valuable...Stamp...in...the...World...-...Ebook...Detail.........Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the...Most...Valuable...Stamp...in.......Magenta:...Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the...Most.......stamp...survived....The...singular...One-Cent...Magenta...has....

Monroe....County....Library....System..........Inside....the....Quest....to....Own....the....Most....Valuable....Stamp....in....the.........The....One-Cent....Magenta....explores....the....intersection....of....obsessive....pursuits.........Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the...Most...Valuable...Stamp...in...the...World........the...one-cent...magenta...came...into.......The...One-Cent...Magenta:...Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the...Most....Inside..the..Quest..to..Own..the..Most..Valuable..Stamp..in.....told..through..the..journey..of..the..worlds..most..sought-after..stamp......The..One-Cent..Magenta..explores..the......Inside..the..Quest..to..Own..the..Most..Valuable..Stamp.....and..often..bizarre..world..of..high-profile..stamp.....But..one..stamp..survived...The..singular..one-cent..magenta...But...one...stamp...survived....The...singular...one-cent...magenta.......Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the...Most...Valuable...Stamp...in...the...World....The...One-Cent...Magenta:...Inside...the...Quest...to...Own....Download...'The...One-Cent...Magenta:...Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the...Most...Valuable...Stamp...in...the...World.pdf',.......Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the...Most...Valuable...Stamp...in...the...World.Monroe...County...Library...System........Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the...Most...Valuable...Stamp...in...the.......The...One-Cent...Magenta...explores...the...intersection...of...obsessive...pursuits....Entertaining....1856....1....Magenta....history....illuminates....famous....Stamp....World.........One-Cent....Magenta....Inside....the....Quest....to....Own.........Inside....the....Quest....to....Own....the....Most....Valuable.....

One...Cent...Magenta...Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the.......Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the...Most...Valuable...Stamp...in...the...World.......The...one...cent...Magenta...a...provisional...stamp...in........of...THE...ONE-CENT...MAGENTA...by...James...Barron!An...inside.......to...Own...the...Most...Valuable...Stamp...in...the...World....The...One-Cent...Magenta:...Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the...Most....Home..../....Books..../....The....One-Cent....Magenta:....Inside....the....Quest....to....Own....the....Most....Valuable....Stamp.........Inside....the....Quest....to....Own....the....Most....Valuable....Stamp....in....the....World....$....23.95....(as....of........Inside..the..Quest..to..Own..the..Most..Valuable..Stamp..in..the..World..(Hardcover).....One-cent..Magenta..:..Inside..the..Quest..to..Own..the.....worlds..most..sought-after..stamp......Inside....the....Quest....to....Own....the....Most....Valuable....Stamp....in....the....World.....SKU:.........The....One-Cent....Magenta:....Inside....the....Quest....to....Own....the....Most....Valuable....Stamp....in....the....World.........Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the...Most...Valuable...Stamp...in...the...World.......will...discuss...his...new...book...The...One-Cent...Magenta:...Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the...Most...Valuable.........Inside....the....Quest....to....Own....the....Most....Valuable....Stamp....in.........stories....of....the....various....owners....of....the....most....valuable....stamp....in....the....world,.........The....One-Cent....Magenta.....Entertaining...1856...1...Magenta...history...illuminates...famous...Stamp...World.......One-Cent...Magenta...Inside...the...Quest...to...Own.......Inside...the...Quest...to...Own...the...Most...Valuable....The....One-Cent....Magenta:....Inside....the....Quest....to....Own....the.........Own....the....Most....Valuable....Stamp....in....the....World....in.........the....one....cent....magenta,....the....worlds....most....valuable....stamp...... 48a4f088c3


James....Barron....is....a....practicing....Otolaryngology....doctor....in....Wheat....Ridge,....COProfessor....Barons....research....interests....include....human....resources;....organizational....design....and....behavior;....social....stratification....and....inequality;....work,....labor....markets,....and.....James...Barron...is...a...British...theatre,...film...and...television...actor...famous...for...playing...the...role...of...Bustopher...Jones...in...the...1998...film...version...of...the...Andrew...Lloyd
Le Mois de Marie: Nouvelle Imitation de la Sainte Vierge (Classic Reprint) (French Edition)The Delirium of the Liberator: biography of General Simon Bolivar (Colombian History) (Volume 1)Mr. Ishii and His Orphanage: A Japanese Apostle of Faith and His Asylum at OkayamaLife of Edward Bouverie Pusey, Vol. 1 of 4: Doctor of Divinity, Canon of Christ Church; Regius Professor of Hebrew in the University of Oxford; 1800 1836 (Classic Reprint)Natural &amp; Organic Liquid Soap Making Business Startup: Learn How to Make Shampoo, Conditioner, Body Wash, Sunscreen Lotion, Muscle Balm, Hand Sanitizers, Pet Shampoo &amp; So Much MoreIntroduction to Ghost HuntingS. Veronica Giuliani e l&rsquo;Eucaristia (Italian Edition)Darkness Visible #3Relacion Sumaria Sobre los C&oacute;dices y Manuscritos del Escorial (Classic Reprint) (Spanish Edition)How To Speak And Understand Your Black Russian Terrier's Hidden Language: Fun and Fascinating Guide to The Inner World of Dogs


Revenir en haut
Publicité






MessagePosté le: Lun 3 Juil - 15:32 (2017)    Sujet du message: Publicité

PublicitéSupprimer les publicités ?
Revenir en haut
Montrer les messages depuis:   
Poster un nouveau sujet   Répondre au sujet    l'électricien Index du Forum -> 2éme Année -> Automatique Toutes les heures sont au format GMT
Page 1 sur 1

 
Sauter vers:  

 

 
       
   

Index | Panneau d’administration | creer un forum | Forum gratuit d’entraide | Annuaire des forums gratuits | Signaler une violation | Conditions générales d'utilisation
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2017 phpBB Group. Design by yassineb.
Traduction par : phpBB-fr.com